1967.Teheran.partyAlong with the hazards of living in the Middle East, Lucretia and I soon discovered the many delights of working and living abroad — including free tuition for our children, a Dangerous Living Allowance, wonderfully low prices at the PX Commissary (imagine paying just $3 for a bottle of premium-label Scotch like Johnny Walker), and a whole new circle of friends. My FAA assignment included all the perks accorded to a major in the USAF, including membership in the Officer’s Club.

We enjoyed getting acquainted with new faces, some of whom became lifelong friends. Sure, it meant occasionally wearing funny hats and dressing up in ridiculous outfits (I’m hoping none of my friends have a picture of me in those skin-tight lederhosen from one memorable evening!), but I’d say it was worth it. A true friend is a treasure beyond price. Here’s a picture of a few of them from New Year’s Eve, 1967. Lorie Hartquist is next to me. Her husband, Fred is across the table from me, next to Laurie Hemp.